January 24, 2012


WASHINGTON, DC – Today Congressman Ted Poe (TX-02) introduced H.R. 3811, the Keystone for A Secure Tomorrow Act (K-FAST). This legislation would allow Congress to directly and immediately approve the permit for the Keystone XL Pipeline.  Congress already has the authority to act. According to CRS, “congressional action related to permitting of pipeline border crossings is a legitimate exercise of Congress's authority to regulate foreign commerce.” In fact, in 1973, Congress took similar action and passed the Trans-Alaska Pipeline Authorization Act in order to build the Trans-Alaska Pipeline.

“The Administration believes that the Keystone Pipeline does not serve the national interest. This is wrong. Approval of the Keystone Pipeline is not only in our national interest, it is a matter of national security. Energy and jobs are two things that Americans need to survive. The Keystone Pipeline would provide both, free of cost to the American taxpayers. Blocking this pipeline is putting our energy security and our economic security at risk. At a time when the cost of energy is high and 14 million Americans are unemployed, the country cannot wait any longer.”

“Instead of saying yes and providing much needed relief to the people, the Administration turned its back on Americans and just said no to the Keystone XL Pipeline. It is the moral obligation and legal authority of Congress to say yes. Congress cannot sit idly by and watch Americans suffer as a result of this reckless decision motivated by politics. It’s time to create jobs, bring energy to the United States and make Middle Eastern politics irrelevant to our national security.”

Congressman Poe introduced this bill with Democratic Congressman Dan Boren (OK-2).

Cosponsors include Reps:

 1.Pete Sessions (TX-32)

2.Charles Boustany (LA-7)

3.Pete Olson (TX-22)

4.Bob Goodlatte (VA-6)

5.John Culberson (TX-7)

6.Blake Farenthold (TX-27)

7.Steve Scalise (LA-1)

8.Kenny Marchant (TX-24)

9.Ralph Hall (TX-4)

10.Dennis Ross (FL-12)

11.Sam Johnson (TX-3)

12.Louie Gohmert (TX-1)

13.Mo Brooks (AL-5)

14.Jason Chaffetz (UT-3)

15.Jeffrey Landry (LA-3)

16.John Carter (TX-31)

17.Mac Thornberry (TX-13)

18.Michael Grimm (NY-13)

19.Dan Burton (IN-5)

20.Mike Conaway (TX-11)

21.Todd Platts (PA-19)

22.Michael Burgess (TX-26)

23.David Roe (TN-1)

24.Thomas Rooney (FL-16)

25.Diane Black (TN-6)

26.Vicky Hartzler (MO-4)

27.Tom Cole (OK-4)

28.Peter King (NY-3)

29.Jeff Duncan (SC-3)

30.Renee Ellmers (NC-2)

31.Steve Womack (AR-3)

32.Candice Miller (MI-

33.Don Manzullo (IL-16)

34.Joe Wilson (SC-02)

35.Reid Ribble (WI-8)

36.Gary Miller (CA-42)

37.Ben Quayle (AZ-3)

38.David Schweikert (AZ-5)

39.Joe Walsh (IL-8)

40.Steve Chabot (OH-1)

41.Steve King (IA-5)

42.Jeff Miller (FL-1)

43.Francisco Canseco (TX-23)

44.Cathy McMorris Rogers (WA-5)

45.Bill Johnson (OH-06)

46.Roscoe Bartlett (MD-6)

47.Marsha Blackburn (TN-7)

48.Austin Scott (GA-8)

49.Duncan Hunter (CA-52)

50.Robert Aderholt (AL-4)

51.Joe Barton (TX-6)

52.Tim Griffin (AR-2)

53.Michael McCaul (TX-10)

54.Denny Rehberg (MT-At Large)

55.Dana Rohrabacher (CA-46)

56.Todd Rokita (IN-4)

57.Lamar Smith (TX-21)

58.Marlin Stutzman (IN-3)

59.Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)

60.Kevin Yoder (KS-3)

61.Howard Coble (NC-6)

62.Ken Calvert (CA-44)

63.Jo Bonner (AL-1)

64.James Lankford (OK-5)

65.Billy Long (MO-7)

66.Frank Guinta (NH-01)

67.Frank Lucas (OK-3)

68.Rick Berg (ND-At Large)

69. Marsha Blackburn (TN-7)

70. Sean Duffy (WI-7)

71. Stephen Fincher (TN-8)

CLICK HERE to read about The Heritage Foundation’s support for K-FAST.

Also supportive of K-FAST is the American Supply Association. CLICK HERE to read the letter sent to Congressman Poe.

Congressman Ted Poe represents the 2nd Congressional District of Texas where the Keystone XL Pipeline would end.