The International Foodservice Distributors Association (IFDA) is pleased to recognize U.S. Representative Ted Poe with a 2010 Thomas Jefferson Award, honoring the legislators work to strengthen our nations free enterprise system and support economic prosperity.

During each Congress, IFDA presents the Thomas Jefferson Award to Senators and Members of the U.S. House of Representatives who demonstrate their commitment to building our nations economy and reducing government regulation. The Award is based on Congressional voting records on issues critical to the growth and prosperity of the foodservice distribution industry and our nations overall economy. Recipients of the Award have shown their dedication to restoring our nations economic and fiscal health during the 111th Congress.

In this critical time, Representative Poe has stood strong and taken the difficult votes to protect Americas businesses, stimulate economic growth, and promote prosperity for the American people, said IFDA President and CEO Mark S. Allen. The Thomas Jefferson Award is our way of recognizing and thanking those lawmakers who have worked to strengthen American business by standing true to the ideals of Thomas Jefferson. Foodservice distributors touch the life of every American consumer on a daily basis. In a time when many are advocating greater government intervention in our economy, we advocate supporting the free market system that is the backbone of our nations prosperity and this award publicly recognizes legislators who support those free market principles.

Recipients of the award supported IFDAs position at least 70 percent of the time on 9 House votes deemed critical to the foodservice distribution industry and the Jeffersonian ideals of free enterprise. These included votes on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (HR 3590), The American Clean Energy and Security Act (HR 2454) and the FY 2010 Congressional Budget Resolution (S.Con.Res. 13) among others. The complete list of votes can be found on the IFDA web site at

The program, introduced in 1992, was inspired by Thomas Jefferson, who in his first inaugural address said, A wise and frugal government shall leave men free to regulate their own pursuits of industry and improvement, and shall not take from the mouth of labor the bread it has earned. This is the sum of good government.

The award itself is a custom-sculptured replica of Jefferson as depicted in the Jefferson Memorial, framed by his four pillars of prosperity: agriculture, manufacturing, commerce, and navigation.